(803) 531-3888 | 149 Centre St, Orangeburg, SC 29115

Administrator

Administrator

Thursday, 15 November 2018 09:31

South Carolina Seat Belt Laws

 

SC Safety belt Law

Sc Seat Belt Laws and What You Need to Know:

South Carolina’s seat belt law states that every operator and passenger (whether in front or rear) of a motor vehicle, when it is being operated on public roads and highways of this State, is required to wear a fastened safety belt that complies with all requirements of federal law for its use. It is the driver's responsibility to make sure every passenger of the vehicle 17 years of age or younger is wearing a seat belt or that they are secured in a child restraint system as required by law. A driver is not, however, responsible for an occupant 17 years of age or younger who has a driver’s license, special restricted license, or beginner’s permit and who is not wearing a safety belt.
An individual may be fined up to $25 for violating the law and even up to $50 for breaking this law more than once, but no points will be assessed for the offense.

There are some cases where the seat belt law does not apply, listed below are examples of this:

A driver or occupant who holds a written verification from a doctor that he or she is not able to wear a seat belt for physical and/or medical reasons;

Medical or rescue personnel tending to wounded or sick individuals in an emergency transport when operating in an emergency as well as the injured or ill people;

Public transportation vehicles excluding taxis;

Participants of vehicles in parades;

United States mail carriers;

Seat belt laws are in enforced so that we can better help to protect our citizens. Motor vehicle accidents have been a leading cause of death in America.
By wearing safety belts and correctly securing children into age and size-appropriate car seats and booster seats, we can decrease the danger of severe injury and death in a car crash by half.

Child restraint laws require children riding in a vehicle to use approved restraint devices such as car seats, booster seats, or safety belts suitable for their age, weight, and height. When riding in a car or other vehicle, children 8 years old and younger are required to be appropriately restrained by an approved child safety seat.

However certain conditions apply:

Infants 2 years old and younger are required to be in a rear-facing child car seat in a rear passenger seat of the car or other vehicle unless the child surpasses the manufacturer's weight or height limits.

Toddlers 2 years old and over must be in a forward-facing child car seat in a rear passenger seat until they exceed the manufacturer's weight and height limits.

Children at least four years old are required to be in a belt-positioning booster seat in a rear passenger seat. Booster seats are required to use a lap and shoulder strap.

Children that are eight years old or are at least 57 inches tall can use a seatbelt if:

The shoulder seat belt crosses the child's chest and not their head or neck.

The lap seat belt fits over the child's hips and thighs and not across their stomach.

The child can sit, without slumping with their back straight against the seat back with their knees bent over the seat edge.

All children that are under the age of 8 years old must be in a rear passenger seat unless children occupy all rear seats under eight years old or if the vehicle does not have rear seats. Any child in the front passenger seat is required to be in an appropriate child safety seat for their age.

Call The Davis Law Firm In Orangeburg South Carolina Today!

Saturday, 04 August 2018 09:39

Disorderly Conduct

 
 
Disorderly conduct (also called "disturbing the peace") is a crime that normally involves some kind of offensive public action. Criminal statutes in some states incorporate public intoxication as one classification of behavior that can be recognized as disorderly conduct. In other states, public intoxication is a separate criminal crime, while in still other jurisdictions the criminal codes could include a crime called "drunk and disorderly" conduct. This article explains disorderly conduct and public intoxication offenses, whatever they might be classified as where you live.
 
It's worth regarding that alcohol is often a factor in the commission of many other offenses not discussed here. Estimates are that alcohol or drug misuse plays a notable role in the commission of at least a third of all severe violations, including domestic violence and various assault crimes. Other offenses where alcohol is a crucial factor include DUI and minor in possession or underage drinking crimes.
 
What is Disorderly Conduct?
 
Disorderly conduct laws enable police officers to detain people whose public behavior is offensive or whose actions conflict with other people's enjoyment of public spaces -- usually because of the violator's use of alcohol or drugs. But remember that in several states, a criminal charge of disorderly conduct does not always require the offender's use of alcohol. Any disruptive behavior -- including being irrationally noisy, and disturbing the peace, can fall under disorderly conduct depending on how the crime is defined in your state's criminal statutes.
 
Public Intoxication Laws
 
Most states have laws that make it a crime to be inebriated in public, although some state laws demand some accompanying disruptive public action (similar to disorderly conduct). In states where there is no special public intoxication law, law enforcement officers might have the right to arrest people who are intoxicated to a debilitating level and let them sleep it off in a cell at the local jail.
 
Public intoxication laws are intended to preserve the safety of someone who is inebriated, and more generally protect society's interest in the unobstructed and secure use of sidewalks, parks, shopping malls, restaurants and any space outside of a person's home that is free to the public.
 
Punishment for Disorderly Conduct and Public Intoxication
 
In most states, disorderly conduct and public intoxication are deemed misdemeanors, and are punishable by fines, education programs, community service, probation, and jail sentencing of less than one year of imprisonment, although any jail punishment that's handed down usually is much less, and in several cases incarceration can be bypassed altogether. 

Criminal Blunders

LEGAL DISCLAIMER

Information found on this Website is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice.

You should consult an attorney regarding your individual situation.

Go to top